Muah-Chee-less No More!

All gooey, chewy, crunchy and sweet at the same time, Muah Chee was my childhood comfort food. A packet of it used to cost a mere 50-cents before hitting a high of $2. That was also round about the time I stopped eating Muah Chee.

Why, you ask?

Well I converted to Islam and couldn’t find halal Muah Chee. Ah, food’s food. No big deal. I figured the plethora of Kueh Kueh would be just as comforting so childhood Muah Chee got left out of my to-eat list until I saw it being served at the Grand Hyatt Straits Kitchen buffet spread. Yummy yeh! It was just that one reunion though cos buffet’s not my thing.

Happily, when we were living in Jakarta I discovered Muah Chee sold at major malls for an equivalent of Singaporean 50-cents. Woohoo! I think you can picture my joy. Of course those of you who follow my blog will also know that I am back in virtually halal-Muah-Chee-less SG.

Or is it?

Presenting Nasyitah’s homemade Muah Chee

Muah-Chee-less No More 1
Chanced upon a Muah Chee recipe a friend posted on FaceBook that promises the dessert in 10 minutes. The catch is I don’t have a microwave oven to cook the dough in. So in came Google and I found at least another 10 Muah Chee recipes! (Sheesh why didn’t I google earlier?) Not wasting any time I zoomed in on one that steams the dough.

The ingredients in both recipes differ slightly but the key ones are:

@ Glutinous rice flour
@ Water
@ Cooking oil
@ Peanut
@ Granulated sugar

Now I have something to do with the remaining glutinous rice flour that I used to make Ondeh-Ondeh!

Since I am really trying to eat as clean as possible, I have decided to make a few swops in an attempt to healthify the dessert. Check out my list of ingredients:

@120 g glutinous rice flour
@ 180 ml water
@ 2 tablespoons virgin coconut oil
@ 150g almonds, chopped and lightly toasted before grounded
@ Soft brown sugar to taste
@ 3-4 leaves of pandan, torn into 2-inch bits
@ Sufficient water to steam the dough with

Muah-Chee-less No More 21. Measured and mixed the flour, water and oil in the bowl to be steamed.

Muah-Chee-less No More 32. Thought I’d experiment flavouring my dough a little by adding  2-inch strips of pandan leaves to the boiling water and steam basket. The dough took under 20 minutes to cook. The aroma released by the pandan leaves and VCO (virgin coconut oil) made our mouths water. To determine whether the dough was cooked I stuck a satay stick into it and the stick came out clean. 

Muah-Chee-less No More 43. While the dough was getting steamed, clever Bibik W helped to chop the almonds up and popped them in the oven. Once cooled a little, into the mini grinder they go. 

4. Finally, the ground almond gets mixed with soft brown sugar before strips of steamed glutinous rice dough is tossed in the mixture.

Muah-Chee-less No More 5Verdict: Thumbs up! More so when eaten piping hot. 

Final note to self: The next time I make it I’m going to try 1 tablespoon VCO and 1 tablespoon cooking oil. The coconut flavour got a bit over-powering after the third mouthful.

Thank you Richard for the FB recipe post and encouragement! 😀 

20131218-224431.jpg

2 thoughts on “Muah-Chee-less No More!

    • Hi! Just realised I have not replied to you. To put it simply, yup. Traditionally, lard is added to a number of Chinese sweet and savoury dishes to add flavour. Although it is less of a common practice these days due to health reasons, it’s best to err on the side of caution.

Leave a Reply

