Getting Unstuck

And so I realised I was stuck and didn’t know what to do about it.

Meltdown commencing in 10…9…8…7…6…5…

Hang on! I remember this web article “Create More than You Consume” I read a while ago. A hunch tells me the lessons in the article might be what I need now.

Time for a reread………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

I knew it! I had missed a very important point when I read it last. Immediately after the title is a byline that says: “But it’s how you consume that’s vital to creative inspiration.”. I have no idea how I could have missed that…

UhuHhhhhhhhhhmmmmm. I think I’m starting to see where the problem lies.

After a second, more thoughtful experience of the piece, I realise I need to:

1. Be totally focused and immersed in whatever I am experiencing.
2. Connect emotionally with the experiences for future inspirations.
3. Teach what I learn to retain what I learn.
4. Try things out, make mistakes and learn from them.
5. Try new and weird things to make connections.

Ok! Consume thoughtfully I will.

1. The Busy Mockingbird

What caught my attention about this blog is Mica’s collaborations with her 4-year old.
Mica VampNothing seems too precious for the artist.
She draws a portrait, her kid does everything else.
She looks at it and, retaining the integrity of her kid’s marks,
adds the finishing touches.

Mica outer-faceThis piece makes no adult sense but is one of my favourites. 

Mica slugThis piece shouts “Stop thinking and play!” to me. 

Such whimsically gorgeous pieces of art. Each piece an evidence of the beauty that can be achieved when one converses and works with the young patiently instead of insisting on compliance and obedience. Each piece an evidence of a beautiful parent-child relationship.

Much I have to learn from this talented artist and mom.

2. Vizier
IMG_0391

Received this publication by the Darul Arqam (Muslim Converts’ Association of Singapore) a while ago but only just managed to read it. The articles in this issue are easy enough to read and covers Islamic knowledge, one’s relationship with Allah (God), neighbours, parents and spouse. Flipping the publication’s pages, I am reminded why it was easy for me to embrace Islam 12 years ago. I am also reminded that there is ease after hardship (alhamdullilah!) and that there is a reason for every trial I go through. The reason is a simple one: to bring me closer to Allah.

Wow.

That thought totally floored me. A very humbling moment for a usually cerebral person.

3. Breakfast Network

I just stumbled on this site offered intelligent and biting commentaries on all things Singapore. (I know, I’m slow like this sometimes.) Unfortunately, if you try to locate it now (http://www.breakfastnetwork.sg), this is what you will see:

Screen Shot 2013-12-11 at 8.44.32 am
Breakfast on site will not be served as the founder and editor Bertha Henson has eventually decided against registering as required by the Broadcasting (Class Licensing) Act. No matter, for morning nourishment can still be accessed here and here 🙂 Thank you MDA (Media Development Authority) for without you I might not have discovered another thing that makes me truly proud to be Singaporean and back home!

4. The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas

Cover-Theboyinthestripedpyjamas

This little gem of a story about the Holocaust told from the perspective of a boy whose father is a high-ranking Nazi officer is the Literature text I will be experiencing with the boys before I call it a day in organised employment. The lessons I learnt from Mikael will serve me well as I put together a term’s worth of teaching resources.

*****************************************************************

ALL RIGHT THEN! As my handsomely astute other half tells me, LESS IS MORE, I shall cease my brain-talk attempt to get creatively inspired now and thank all of you for wanting to be a part of this 🙂

20131201-190314.jpg

Leave a Reply

