Food Obsessions

Food I make Collage
When I am tired, I eat unthinkingly.
When I am happy I watch what I eat.
When I am stressed I eat with unleashed vengeance.
When I am the cook I eat to reward myself. When I am the eater, well, I eat to impress and please.
When I am depressed I eat to comfort.
When I am excited I talk and eat.
When I am thirsty I eat gulpingly.
When I am exhausted, I sleep-eat.

With food and eating so much a part of my life and the sweet effects of ageing, everything that goes into the mouth has to be worth the effort i.e. healthy and tasty or sinful and scrumptious.

Of sinful and scrumptious cuisine, I must say I don’t do them culinary justice other than consuming them so I will leave those to the professionals.

On the other hand when it comes to healthy food, all I can say is that there are hits and misses. Here’s a hit from the latest gathering of the Tans:

***QUINOA Avocado Salad***

IMG_9813

Ingredients:

* 3/4 cups quinoa (any colour)
* 2 avocadoes
* 2 tomatoes
* 2 cloves of garlic, finely minced
* Sea salt to flavor
* 3/4 tsp of chopped dried parsley
* 1/2 tsp dried chopped oregano
* Juice from 1/2 lemon
* Optional: raisins

Method
Mix everything together and serve!

Super easy to assemble, yummy and highly adaptable, what’s there not to like about this super foods dish?

 

20130621-154431.jpg

Posted in Eat

Leave a Reply

