Parenting

When did the little baby in the sink grow so big?

When did he grow from little to big?

I always thought I’ve done a pretty good job of juggling parental duties, work and personal life. The word to note here is “THOUGHT” for certain episodes that have taken place over the past year clearly point at my inadequacies as a mom to a boy rapidly growing into a young man. Of course like any normal parent who did not think there was anything amiss with their parenting methods, I was upset for the longest time when confronted by behaviour I did not expect.

Then it hit me. I’m the adult! Of course I am responsible for whatever happens! So I searched for answers everywhere. Within, with out and, naturally, on the World Wide Web.

Turns out I had been a bad listener. And I might have just done some of the things I kept telling this Boyyoungman not to do. You know what happens when someone tells you not to do something right?

So my parent report card is not as gleaming as I thought but I’m not about to throw in my towel just yet. I looked around, found some strategies and adapted them. Also thought up some of my own cos no two ten-year-old-going-on-eighteen are the same right?

Parenting Collage

Stuff in my latest bag. Who doesn’t love a pat on the back, no matter how tacky, and treats? The passes are hand-drawn on an old note book and the award tag is super easy to make! 

Nevertheless, at the end of the day, this mummy concedes that what the Reallystillaboy needs is a mummy who listens and not judge, who encourages his effort and cheers him on, who stands firm in the decisions that keeps him safe and healthy and who plays and laugh with him.

Parenting collaborative drawing

Drawing fun: Someone begins with drawing one line and passes on to the other person who adds another line to it before passing back. And so, after many back and forths later, a piece of art is born! This is a super fun do-anywhere-as-long-as-you-have-pen-and-paper activity giving surprising results.

May this little piece reminds the mummy in me to never forget what my Notsolittleboy needs no matter how busy, fast-paced and crazed the little red dot gets come 24 June 2013.

dot on dot signature

Leave a Reply

