Lesson Three: Slippers For Our Feet

It is going to be my third lesson with the class and I have absolutely enjoyed myself so far. The children have learnt “hands” (lesson 1, hand portrait) and “fingers” (lesson 2, finger-printing) and are moving on to “feet”. “FEET”! For the life of me I just could not think of a good activity! What does a newly-reinitiated webbie do?

GOOGLE! What else? πŸ˜€

So to Google I went and found this slipper tutorial. What a fun thing to do! I thought to myself while clapping and cheering and dancing around the living room. Then I sobered up and started to prepare for the lesson. I made ready-cut templates and materials needed so that the activity can be carried out as smoothly as possible with a group of really young and enthusiastic learners. Thank goodness for all the materials I carted over from Singapore πŸ™‚ With the templates cut, the children only need to decorate their slippers with finger-print art, a technique they learnt the lesson before.

Excitedly, I waited for my volunteer day at Sekolah Bisa. As with the other lessons, we had a blast! πŸ™‚

Here are some photographs of the children at their creative best.


The kids are building on the finger-printing technique they learnt the week before, creating designs for their slippers. Kakak Bella helps Ramat who was absent last week and so didn’t learn to finger-print.


Anik is older than most of the kids in the class. She has artistic flair that should be developed further. This is where differentiated learning must come in! πŸ˜€


Anik’s carefully printed slipper.


The Twins Rohmat and Rahmat.


One slipper done! From Left: Anik, Ella And Rendi πŸ˜€


Reserved and melancholic Fini. The urge to make her smile is so strong.

We ran out of time at the end of the lesson so I brought all the painted slippers back home to sew buttons on. This is what they look like.

All Done! Do look out for pictures of the slipper installation! πŸ™‚

If you are smiling by now, you should be able to imagine the satisfaction I feel every Friday! πŸ™‚

One thought on “Lesson Three: Slippers For Our Feet

  1. Pingback: Slipper Tutorial « Colours Of The Domestic Goddess

Leave a Reply

