Nadia’s Bloom-a-Band

When we heard that Nadia had finished reciting the Qur’an, we wanted to give her something to mark the occasion.

The question is WHAT?

Scrounging around my boxes of materials I came up with these:

20120727-123726.jpg
Sleeves from a Primark T that looked wrong with sleeves and felt pieces.
Hhhhhhhhhhmmmmmm…
Perfect for a Bloom-a-Band for this trendy young adult with a casual, laid-back and slightly girly vibe!

Let’s get started!

1) Cut and join the sleeves to form the headband.

20120727-124935.jpg

2) Hand sew the stainless steel hook and ear set onto the ends of the headband. This will allow the wearer to adjust the circumference of the headband for a comfortable fit.

20120727-130024.jpg

3) Make the bloom: Cut felt circles of differing sizes and colours and stack them on top of one another. I also included stripey circles cut from the sleeves for variety. Pin the pieces with a bobby pin to stop them from shifting around.

20120727-130309.jpg

4) Pin bloom to Β band. Put the band on to confirm positioning of the bloom.

20120727-130931.jpg

5) Attach bloom to band. You can use hot glue gun but I prefer to sew mine on for permanence! πŸ™‚ I also added a funky antique silver finished button to complete the look.

20120727-131143.jpg

6) Finally, the finishing touches. I am a firm believer that packaging is as important as the gift it houses. So I dug into my treasure trove again and found these babies πŸ˜€

20120727-131520.jpg

7) VoilΓ ! It’s done and waiting for it’s owner! πŸ™‚

20120727-132521.jpg

Gave Nadia the gift when she came for tea with her mom and she wore it right away!

WOOPEE! πŸ™‚

A very happy domestic goddess signing off πŸ˜€

3 thoughts on “Nadia’s Bloom-a-Band

  1. Wow, Wah Ling! It’s really creative! I’m glad you now have time to do something like this. Remember how you said you would love to go Japan to study Japanese gift-wrapping. Well, this is the first step!

    • Hey Angie! Yup I remember my Japanese dream. I also wanted to take up a summer course in fashion at the Central St.Martin’s in London as well but given the circumstances, I’ll be a self-taught wrapper/crafter/sew-Er first! πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: The Things I Make « Colours Of Our Lives

Leave a Reply

